OGC News

Showing 11 - 15 of 77 Items (Page 3 of 16)

Seniors Texas Scramble 10th August

42 players took part in this year’s Seniors competition with 14 teams of 3 taking part. It was a very close contest with only 4 shots diving the top 9 teams. The top five teams were separated by 1 shot with 2nd to 5th place on a net 65. The final places were calculated on count back.

However, in 1st place were Graham Hoskin, Thomas Kenny & Ian Rosser with a net 64.

In 2nd place were John Brady, Mike Cutler & Bob Ellis.

In 3rd place were Kieran Murphy, John Pegg & Chris Tucker

Well done to organiser John Pegg and prize presenter, Seniors Captain Elect, Bob Ellis who were amongst the prize winners!!!!

3rd Place

Lady Captain's Day - Wednesday 14th July 2021

A warm, sunny day with a welcome gentle breeze was the order of the day for the Lady Captain’s Day this year at Olton Golf Club, hosted by Lady Captain Debbie Forbes.  The course, as ever, presented a challenging test for the ladies with 44 competing in the 18 hole Stableford competition which was won by Wendy McIntyre on 36 points, winning the Anne Murray Bowl.  2nd place went to Elizabeth Smith with 34 points, and Lucy Rigg was 3rd on count-back with 33 points.  3 ladies elected to play in the 9 hole competition with Chris Mosley coming out as the winner.  For those ladies not wishing to ‘grace the fairways’ there was a putting competition.  6 ladies fiercely competed to be ‘Queen of the Putting Green’.  In a closely contested event Lynda Cooper was victorious taking the title with her precision putting.   


The sporting competitions were followed by a delicious ‘afternoon tea’ in the Heaton Lounge which was transformed with a ‘Celebration of Wales’ theme in honour of our Lady Captain’s Welsh heritage and geneology.  The room was beautifully decorated with stunning flower displays by Syliva Walker featuring yellow roses, white carnations and gypsophilia.  Denise and her helpers had done a superb job in setting out the tables to mirror the colours of yellow and white in a nod to the wonderful Welsh emblem of the Daffodil.  A chilled glass of Prosecco started proceedings followed by a delicious afternoon tea featuring a selection of cakes expertly baked by Max (Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood would have approved!), topped off with the ‘Show Stopper’ of that Welsh favourite, Barra Brith.  The Lady Captain’s ‘Golf Rules Quiz’ provided plenty of entertainment heralding two winners as the last ladies standing:  Lynn Buxcey because she was extremely good at guessing and Karen Hearn as she definitely knows her rules and knew the answers!

The afternoon concluded with a short speech by Lady Captain Debbie, the sound-bite from which was that “At the start of this year LC stood for ‘Let’s Cancel’, then ‘Let’s Carry On’ and now it was time for what we had all been waiting for – ‘Let’s Celebrate’ … which the ladies of OGC certainly did.


Elizabeth Smith
Ladies Section


The Club Championship 2021

Saturday 31st August saw 64 players compete in three divisions in this year’s Club Championship. Fortunately, much of the rain forecast held off and players didn’t get too wet. The course was in magnificent condition and thanks goes to Mark Smith and his team for preparing the course so superbly.

Presenting the Trophy and Vouchers to all winners was Captain Elect Joe Bates who stepped in at late notice for a poorly Captain, Peter Dixon.

Well done to new Club Champion Ryan Hinsley for his two rounds of 71 & 73 totalling 144

Second place went to Phil Haine with rounds of 71 & 75 totalling 146 with Luke Allen in third place with rounds of 72 & 75 totalling 147.

In the 6 to 10 Division the winner was James McMahon with Lee Hendrie and Peter Meany in second and third place.

In the 11 to 15 Division the winner for the second year running was Keith Bertschin with Harrison Porter and Gary Boughey in second and third Place.

Congratulations to all entrants

Andy Watkinson
Honorary Match Secretary

Olton Golf Club Junior Open 22nd July 2021

The Olton Junior open was held on a very hot Thursday 22nd July. The girl’s competition is a medal held over 18 holes and the boys over 36 holes with trophies for best gross and best nett in both competitions. There were outstanding scores in both events. 

The Ladies’ President Jeannie Morrison presented the girls’ prizes.

The girls’ event was won by 11 years old 10 handicap Arianna Virik from Kenilworth Golf club, who won both the Gross and nett trophies with a brilliant score of 76 gross 66 nett.

Second gross was Tia Hayes Stratford on Avon 83.

Heather Gilks Coventry 2nd was 2nd nett 70.

The Boys best gross was won by ( -1.0) hcp Finley Stokes from Atherstone with 144. Thirteen years old Armaan Basra Singh from Olton had two brilliant rounds of 79, 80 gross, 58 and 59 nett, to win the best nett trophy with 117 total.

The boys’ prizes were presented by the Olton Club Captain Peter Dixon

Well done to all that took part

Terry Smith
Junior Organiser

Birkett Barker Trophy & Shield + Presidents Salver

Congratulations to both Simon Harwin & Daniel Green for their performances in the Birkett Barker Trophy & Shield 36 hole competitions  

Birkett Barker Trophy Winner - Simon Harwin - Score 69 & 69 = 138

Birkett Barker Shield Winner - Daniel Green - Score 71 & 68 = 139

President's Salver Winner - Daniel Green - Score 148 & 139 = 287




Showing 11 - 15 of 77 Items (Page 3 of 16)