With an outstanding 7-1 home defeat of Harborne GC the Olton Men's Scratch League Team have been crowned champions of the top division of the Midland Scratch League.  It has been 26 years since Olton first won this premier title for the only time but the Club now has a young, strong squad that should go on to win many more times.  George Parker took up the captaincy of the team last year, having an immediate impact wth the team gaining promotion back to Division 1, and has continued in that vein to guide the team to the top of the tree, again giving youth its chance.  Jake Scott was the most successful player this season winning 8½ points from 10 games thus winning the Foden Trophy.

The photograph shows 11 of the squad, standing from left is Nick Brooker, Luke Allen, George Allen, Ken Bent, Sam Bissell, James Hetherington & Joe Macilwraith with in the front row from the left Rob Tovey, Liam Phipps, George Parker and Jake Scott.  The other two members of the squad, not shown, were Mike Pell and George Taylor